MozCamp Alpha Bangladesh – Two Days of Pure Awesomeness!

It was Wednesday. I was all pumped up because I got invitation to attend MozCamp Alpha Bangladesh. I had  an exam to attend. Afterwards, when I was heading for the camp the weather went crazy. I got drenched from my head to toe but that couldn’t dull my excitement !

Upon arriving the camp I saw everyone working in groups. I too became part of a group. We all told our Mozilla story; why we joined the Mozilla community and the reason behind our contribution. The most exciting part of Day 1 started after lunch break. Mozilla Bangladesh community lead Mahay Alam Khan asked all the participants to give their opinion on a certain topic. It was almost like a debate. Later all the participants were divided under the contribution area (pathway) they chose. The contribution areas were: Coding , L10n, SuMo and Webmaker. Day 1 was over after making four pathway groups.

Working in groups.
Working in groups.
Salman Rahman Desh, a FSA from AIUB was awarded this mug for his contribution.
Salman Rahman Desh, a FSA from AIUB was awarded this mug for his contribution.
Safwan Rahman, a SuMo contributor receiving an special sticker from Mahay Alam Khan.
Safwan Rahman, a SuMo contributor receiving an special sticker from Mahay Alam Khan.
Everyone is sharing their Mozilla story with others. :)
Everyone is sharing their Mozilla story with others. 🙂
Day 1: Group photo time. :D
Day 1: Group photo time. 😀

 

I was one of the few peoples who arrived early in the camp on Day 2. We had on-site MDN dashboard localization sprint at early hours of the day. Then my favorite part from Day 2 came. We were asked to mention our favorite line from the video “The Web We Want-An Open Letter”. Many points came out from this discussion. The tough job began after that. Every pathway group had to make a Contribution Area Session Template. It was supposed to be a useful, flexible framework for organizing all of the pieces that need to be included into a session and make it effective and compelling. I was a member of Coding pathway group. We tried our best to make an effective template. Later, every team had to give a short presentation about their template.

Onsite MDN Dashboard localization sprint.
Onsite MDN Dashboard localization sprint.
Open discussion on The Web We Want.
Open discussion on The Web We Want.
#firefoxOS
#firefoxOS
#MozillaBD
#MozillaBD
Session template presentation of Coding pathway.
Session template presentation of Coding pathway.
Session template presentation of Webmaker pathway.
Session template presentation of Webmaker pathway.
#l10n
#l10n
#coding
#coding
Coding pathway group members.
Coding pathway group members.
Group photo, again! :D
Group photo, again! 😀

I have been to several Mozilla events and I organized two events in my campus. So far I can say that MozCamp Alpha was the most important of them all. It has worked like a guideline for young Mozillians’ like me. Here I once again learned the importance of the philosophy we look up to, that the web should be open for all. I came to understand that I love the concept of open web from the within and I stand for Mozilla because Mozilla is trying it’s best to set the web free. But that’s not all, I also learned that we need to be tactical and more professional to get our community growing. While planning about the session template of my pathway, I realized that we need more experience to make fruitful contribution to the community. I will gladly take any chance like MozCamp Alpha that may come in future and enrich my experience. I hope to become an active contributor of the community and part of a greater change.

 

Photo Credit: Ishak Herock, Ashkary Rahman. Thank you guys for capturing these lovely moments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

